AEWA: Waterbird Conservation Award 2012. Nominations open until 31 July 2011

Source: AEWA

Institutions and citizens from all nations are invited to nominate individuals or institutions – governmental and non-governmental, including community groups or private sector enterprises – of any country in the Agreement area for the third edition of the AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award. This Award was established in order to recognize and honour institutions and individuals within the Agreement area that have made a significant contribution towards the conservation and sustainable use of waterbirds.

Mr. David Stroud was the winner in the individual category in 2005; he was honoured for his significant contribution to the worldwide conservation and management of wetlands and waterbirds as well as his close involvement in the development of AEWA. The winner of the institutional category in 2005 was the Government of the Netherlands, represented by the Ministry of Agriculture, Nature and Food Quality (LNV), for its leading role in the establishment of AEWA and its continuing support over the years. For more information on the 2005 AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award please click here.

In 2008, the winner in the institutional category was the Paris-based, international non-governmental organization OMPO (Oiseaux Migrateurs du Paléarctique Occidental), which has played an important role in strengthening the AEWA network and increasing the number of Parties to the Agreement. The winner in the individual category was Mr. Mark D. Anderson for his long-standing involvement in nature conservation and, in particular, his considerable contribution to the conservation of the Lesser Flamingo. Click here to read more on the 2008 AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award.

The AEWA network unites the experience, knowledge and pioneering spirit of so many dedicated stakeholders, all of which deserve recognition in their own way. If you wish to nominate an individual or institution deserving particular merit, the deadline for submission of nominations is 31 July 2011.

The AEWA Waterbird Conservation Award 2012 includes a cash prize of USD 5,000 and will be decided upon by the AEWA Standing Committee at its 7th meeting in November 2011 and presented to the winners in both categories at the 5th Meeting of the Parties to AEWA in May 2012 in La Rochelle, France.

For more information on the criteria and procedures and to download nomination forms please visit the AEWA website.

Nomination form [ English ] [ Français ]

Criteria and procedures [ English ] [ Français ] spacer