German Institute for Development Evaluation (DEval)

Since 2012, the German Institute for Development Evaluation (DEval) has been conducting independent and scientifically sound evaluations of German development cooperation measures, with the aim of making German development cooperation more effective. In particular, the independent evaluation work that DEval performs supports the Federal Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ) in improving German development cooperation. Based on the scientific results of its evaluations, DEval aims to enable governmental and non-governmental development cooperation organisations to make their strategies, instruments and programmes more effective. In addition, DEval helps the Bundestag (German parliament) perform its control function with respect to the executive and provide evidence to underpin political initiatives to structure the Federal Republic’s international cooperation.

Fields of action

Strategically relevant evaluations: DEval performs strategically relevant evaluations and impact analyses of German development cooperation in order to make German development cooperation more effective.

Enhancement of methods and standards: DEval enhances evaluation methods and standards, thus contributing to improved evaluation practice.

Development of evaluation capacity: DEval develops evaluation capacity in selected partner countries of German development cooperation.

Knowledge transfer and networking: DEval publishes its evaluations and, through targeted knowledge transfer and networking, encourages people to make use of its findings with a view to strengthening learning processes and democratic accountability in this policy area.

Website: www.deval.org

News DEval

Das Deutsche Evaluierungsinstitut der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (DEval)

Seit 2012 führt das Deutsche Evaluierungsinstitut der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit (DEval) unabhängige und wissenschaftlich fundierte Evaluierung von Maßnahmen der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit durch, mit dem Ziel die Wirksamkeit der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu steigern. Über seine unabhängige Evaluierungsarbeit unterstützt das DEval insbesondere das Bundesministerium für wirtschaftliche Zusammenarbeit und Entwicklung (BMZ) dabei, die deutsche Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu verbessern. Staatliche und auch nicht-staatliche Organisationen der Entwicklungszusammenarbeit sollen auf Grundlage wissenschaftlicher Ergebnisse aus DEval Evaluierungen in die Lage versetzt werden, ihre Strategien, Instrumente und Programme wirksamer zu gestalten. Das DEval unterstützt zudem den deutschen Bundestag darin, seine Kontrollfunktion gegenüber der Exekutive wahrzunehmen und politische Initiativen für die Ausgestaltung der internationalen Zusammenarbeit der Bundesrepublik mit Evidenz zu unterlegen.

Handlungsfelder

Strategisch relevante Evaluierungen: Das DEval führt strategisch relevante Evaluierungen und Wirkungsanalysen der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit durch, um die Wirksamkeit der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit zu steigern.

Weiterentwicklung von Methoden und Standards: Das DEval entwickelt Methoden und Standards der Evaluierung weiter und leistet somit einen Beitrag zu einer verbesserten Evaluierungspraxis.

Förderung von Evaluierungskapazitäten: Das DEval fördert Evaluierungskapazitäten in ausgewählten Kooperationsländern der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit.

Wissensvermittlung und Vernetzung: Das DEval veröffentlicht seine Evaluierungen und fördert durch gezielte Wissensvermittlung und Vernetzung die Nutzung seiner Ergebnisse, um Lernprozesse und die demokratische Rechenschaftslegung in diesem Politikfeld zu stärken.

Website: www.deval.org

Neuigkeiten DEval