DIE: Online Seminar Series | De-Globalization and the Future of Global Value Chains (GVCs)

The Policy Implications of Recent Globalization Research: „De-Globalization and the Future of GVCs“ is an online seminar series organized by the German Development Institute/Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), Brookings, the Centre for Economic Performance at the London School of Economics (CEP-LSE) and the Centre for Economic Policy Research (CEPR).

The online seminar series aims to encourage the exchange and discussion of empirical research on trade and investment and its effects on developing and emerging countries.

The seminar differs from a traditional academic seminar, which focuses on methodology and academic exchange, and instead aims to promote the translation of academic findings into policy. As such, the seminar series provides the opportunity for mutual learning: researchers learning about urgent policy questions and policy makers learning about what is methodologically feasible.

Within the seminar series, we aim for academic researchers that can share innovative empirical work and policy insights. Instead of focusing on particular papers, the seminar series invites presenters to present on a particular topic and present their accumulated and broader research findings and agenda.

The target audience of the seminar includes both academics and policymakers dealing with trade and investment, and particularly policy makers from emerging and developing countries and in multilateral organisations.

The seminar series is held on Zoom and consists of a 40 minutes presentation and 20 minutes Q&A, although we encourage interactive discussions throughout the seminar.

Organisers

Schedule

Pol Antràs (Harvard University and CEPR) will be presenting „De-Globalization and the Future of GVCs“ on Tuesday 20 April 2021 at 4pm BST / 5pm CEST / 11am EDT / 8am PDT.

More information and registration

Source: Deutsches Institut für Entwicklungspolitik (DIE), 09 April 2021